This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Theatre Cafe in Shaftesbury Avenue (London) opened earlier this year, and ever since I had been desperate to go, so I thought I would do a little blog on my first experience there!

The place was a lot smaller than I expected, however that probably made it even more special. We were lucky that we caught it on a quiet period, so we got to wander the displays and choose a table stress-free.

This place really is the perfect spot for theatre enthusiasts, like myself, as it showcases a wonderful display of all things stagey, while being able to relax too!

It features several signed posters, including favourites like Mamma Mia, Wicked, Cats and Gypsy. There is also some exciting props on show, such as the Phantom of the Opera mask and a broom from Wicked. Plus there are several other posters, photos, artwork, mugs and other memorabilia. Every table is decorated with leaflets of various shows from across the years, and there’s even one special “autograph” table signed by some popular stage faves. It’s got a really clear theme and is really well thought-out.

Although I found the menu of the cafe was basic, featuring just the standard drinks like Coffee, Tea and Hot Chocolate with a cake selection. It was still really good and fairly priced, there’s bound to be something for everyone, especially if you’re just looking for a nice spot to grab a drink and small bite. I paid £5.10 for a cookie and hot chocolate topped with whipped cream (both of which were very good!), plus it’s a bonus as your drinks get served in a musical themed cup! We got Les Mis cups, but they also have Wicked, Kinky Boots, Miss Saigon and more! It could become a fun collection!

Another fun feature was the fact you could choose from an iTunes library of show tunes for the free Jukebox! Me and my friend chose some of our favourites: Mamma Mia, RENT and Elf but equally enjoyed other people’s selections!

They also have iPads scattered around offering you the chance to grab some last minute show tickets! Perfect if you love Theatre and fancy a last minute splurge on an afternoon/evening out.

I also appreciated the fact they had several plugs, as it meant I got to charge my phone up.

Finally, although I haven’t attended any, they host fun events too, in fact they have one this weekend!

If this sounds like the place for you, make sure you check out @thetheatrecafe, thetheatrecafe.co.uk or The Theatre Cafe to keep in the loop.