I have had this blog in my brain for a while, as I wanted to share some of the shows that have shaped me in my 26 (and rapidly approaching 27) years and celebrate some of the theatre that has left its mark on me and share a few short reasons why.

I had seen a small handful of shows before seeing Made in Dagenham and whilst I had enjoyed them, it was this show that shook me to my core! I left the theatre feeling utterly euphoric and I don’t think I had ever felt that stirred up, inspired and moved before. I didn’t realise theatre could be so powerful up until that point. I love the story of these incredible women who fought for Equal Pay, and the silly yet joyful tunes and energy the show has. I sadly saw it in its final week (otherwise I probably would have moved into the theatre), but what it started was the spark of my love for theatre and I immediately looked to see more shows and movie musicals.

A few months later, I turned my media studies student interests to theatre by beginning to write reviews and blogging. The reviewing part is what led me to Mamma Mia! as I got an opportunity to review it in the West End, and this is the show that I blame for turning the spark into a flame. In the course of one evening, I found my favourite show, and favourite performer and decided I might like to explore a career in theatre. I remain loyal to both the show and said performer nine years down the line and I’m now in my second year of working in the industry. It may seem like a ‘low-brow’ choice of a favourite show, but every visit is a hit of pure serotonin and there are so many incredible performers that this show has had – I mean, just look at the long legacy of Dynamos! It will always be my comfort show and a happy place when I’m transported to that Greek island with these crazy characters and the hits of ABBA!

I hold Bedknobs and Broomsticks incredibly dear to my heart. I can’t really put into words how much this show means to me. I grew up with a fondness for the film, and every time there were rumours of the stage show happening I was incredibly excited. As soon as the tour was announced I’d booked tickets for my closest venue. When the casting eventually got announced and my dream cast of Dianne Pilkington as Eglantine came true, I basically packed my bags and hit the road with them! It came at such a critical time for me, just as theatre and the world were finding their feet again after the Covid and lockdown era and I was finding myself again too, this show allowed me to travel to many new places, experience crazy adventures that spanned the length and breadth of the country (something I’d always longed to do) and I was excited, inspired, moved by and fully immersed in theatre after a stint away from it. The show also became a catalyst for allowing me to believe in myself again, let go of fear, prioritise doing things for me and really push to work in theatre, and it worked. It also introduced me to the most wonderful group of people working on the show.

Young Frankenstein and Only Fools and Horses were two shows that taught me that laughter is the greatest medicine and gift and that not every show needs to be ‘high art’ for it to be entertaining and successful. Musical comedies have become one of my favourites in the wide range of musical genres, and these remain two of my most seen and beloved shows. I had such a great time supporting these shows and their casts, and they aided me through a tricky time of navigating my early 20s. I reflect on both as a time of great joy and laughter and I love continuing to see and support those from the shows when I can.

Kinky Boots and Everybody’s Talking About Jamie are the two LGBTQ+ stories that stand out as coming to me when I was on my own journey of figuring out who I was, and they reminded me that being myself is a priority as that is what will lead to joy. Both touch on the highs and lows of the queer experience, but ultimately contain a lot of hope, humour, strength and celebration in their stories. It’s amazing to have since discovered their predecessors and successors. Long may LGBTQ+ stories continue to be shared, supported and celebrated!

I am not ashamed to admit that I love Jukebox musicals and I have many loves from that category of musicals, but the most poignant have to be Bat out of Hell and The Cher Show. Both opened up a newfound or deeper love for the respective artists and led me to performers who have created fans out of me. Interestingly, these two shows are examples of the two sides of Jukebox musicals, with one having an original story and the other being a biopic on the artist – and I’m here for both! Above all, these shows have just given me great joy and music that I deeply connect with.

Beauty and the Beast and the Wizard of Oz are two ends of the spectrum for me, the former being one I had waited a lifetime for and the latter never being one I expected to love so much. I grew up adoring Beauty and the Beast, and I feel like a subconscious part of my mind was always aware of a stage musical existing even before I hit my theatre era and I’d wanted to see it for such a long time that I mostly just sobbed when I was finally seated for it! Whereas unlike most, I never really grew up with Wizard of Oz as a part of my life, but its summer run at the Palladium last year opened up a newfound love and appreciation for all things Oz. Both gave me great summers spent at the Palladium and tapped into fabulously colourful fantasy worlds full of fun and escapism.

Waitress and Come From Away remind me of Broadway. I had a bit of a Broadway era when I was relatively new to theatre but a lot of the shows either closed (Finding Neverland and If/Then) or I had faith they would eventually come over to the West End (Hamilton) so when I started listening to Waitress, I was desperate to see it and fell madly in love with the music, but never thought I would get to see it live. Then I got presented with a chance to go to New York alongside my best friend, and I managed to see these two shows (and also Dear Evan Hansen) a year before they came to London. Both remain firm favourites that I have seen several times since and they always make me shed a tear from the pure emotional rollercoaster!

There we have it! A brief overview of some of the shows that shaped me and why I hold them so dear to my heart. I hope it made you think about the shows that have shaped you too. Do we have any matches? Whatever they are, I hope you can all keep supporting the arts!