Sharon Sexton and Rob Fowler were introduced to me, and many fellow fans, through a little show called Bat out of Hell – The Musical with their creation of the roles of Sloane and Falco.

The show allowed the pair to build a beautiful friendship and overwhelmingly strong fanbase, and the next step was their duets album “Vision of You” which was released in December 2018. The album gives an interesting and detailed back story to the beloved characters of Sloane and Falco, each track is carefully crafted to be symbolic of a poignant moment in their characters life and relationship. I think it’s a beautiful album, with an interesting mixture of themes and music genres you’ll find a few modern show tunes like Only Us from Dear Evan Hansen, Falling Slowly from Once as well as some classic duet numbers such as Need You Now and You Don’t Bring Me Flowers.

I regret not giving a review of the album upon its initial release, because it deserves to be shouted about – however, there’s still time for me to do so as the album can still be purchased at the forthcoming gigs, online via Facebook and downloaded online. Whether you know them or not, I’m certain that you won’t regret giving it a listen as it’s such a great album to chill out to and enjoy if you love theatrical tones.

When it was announced that following the album, there would be a Vision Of You Tour, detailing the back story of Sloane and Falco even further – I naturally booked a ticket immediately, and thankfully just in time as it sold out very quickly!

Last night I attended the second of the first three shows, and I left just feeling blown away. The charming duo not only played the album in full, in track order as intended, but they also slipped in a few extras in the middle section of the show which was a delight. (If you know, you know)

Unfortunately, I can’t detail the gig too in-depth as Sharon and Rob are requesting that fans keep the secrets ahead of the upcoming shows so fans get to experience it from scratch. Which in this digital age can be hard and rare, and I’m not ashamed to admit I do tend to like a spoiler as it builds on the excitement – but actually, I’m glad that the secrets were kept with this show because it allowed me to fully invest myself in the moment, and really connect with the story and performances.

It was a really unique set-up though, as it was held in such an intimate and gorgeous venue – The Space at Studio 88 that you really got to feel right there with them. It was told and performed from the perspective of the characters (Sloane, Falco and a few other characters from Bat Out Of Hell) in an almost song-cycle or mini theatre show style.

Alongside the performances were some beautiful graphics designed by Erin Ong which really aided the story and added to the emotion in #FindingTheFalcos. Not only that, their use of props and staging even in the intimate space was a joy. For fans of the show, it was thrilling to see so many great items and references linked to the show up close – but alas I don’t want to spoil it.

The performances from Sharon and Rob were of course incredible. As a fan, I might be biased, but their emotion, passion, and talent is undeniably very real. To the point the storytelling through both the graphics and their performances moved me to tears more than once, not in a sobbing type of way but in a graceful tear rolling down my cheek way. I could just feel and believe every second. Shoutout to the rest of the team who helped pull it together too, including Steve Corley doing the music which was equally a joy. Overall, it was a simply beautiful way to spend 80 minutes.

Whilst you may think you need to be a fan of the show to be there, I’m sure you can appreciate the artistry, passion, and talent even if you aren’t. But for fans attending upcoming shows, all I can say is you are in for a treat; and if you’re debating whether to bother, you simply must for I’ve personally never quite experienced anything like it and I cannot wait for more when I see them in March.

If you would like to learn more about Sharon Sexton and Rob Fowler, be sure to check out their socials. They have many upcoming gigs- quite a few are already sold out but if you can find a ticket, don’t hesitate to snap it up!